top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAmy Cooper

Arrival

Hello !


I have arrived and have spent a few days here at the YWAM San Jose base!

Travelling thankfully went fairly smoothly and I arrived safely after 14 hours of airplanes, in San Jose Costa Rica on Friday evening. There I was met by some of the wonderful staff from YWAM SJ who took me to the base which is located just outside of San Jose, in the mountains.


They’ve only recently moved into this new property and are in the process of constructing new buildings to facilitate more students/staff/ministries, which is super exciting! It also obviously means that things can be a bit chaotic sometimes!


On Saturday we were able to meet everyone on the base: currently YWAM SJ is running a DTS (the one I’m part of) and a school of frontier missions. Along side that, they’re running a number of ministries, such as Homes of Hope (a ministry that provides and builds housing for impoverished areas). So there’s quite a lot of staff and students around the base, and it was great to meet everyone!


In my DTS, we are 11 students and 3 staff. We are from a number of different countries (NI, USA, Switzerland, Brazil and Costa Rica) and everyone either speaks Spanish, English or both! I’m super excited to be able to improve my Spanish (although everyone laughs at me because I speak with a Madrid accent instead of a Latin American one!)


We started the program properly on Monday, which was really exciting, and we had a time of worship with the entire base before our class time. We are all really excited and expectant for what God is going to do during this time! Even in the midst of this pandemic, he is sovereign and he is in control. He never stops moving, and we are expectant to see him and learn more about him over the next few months!


Thank you for all of your kind messages and your prayers over the past few days - I really appreciate it ❤️


Amy


113 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page