top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAmy Cooper

Week three + four !!!

Just a wee explanation before I start - I had this all written and ready to publish 2 weeks ago, but then life got flipped upside down when my Grandmother passed away on the 8th of February, and I didn't get to post this. I'll talk more about this in my next update, which should be in the next few days. But this is an update about my third and forth week here in Costa Rica, and I'm just going to leave it as I had written it 2 weeks ago. Enjoy :)


Hello everyone!


Somehow a month has gone by here in San Jose! The Lord has been so good to us, and no one yet has developed symptoms of covid, and homesickness hasn't been a problem either. I am so in love with this community, and how well everyone loves each other. The leaders in our DTS love us so well, and have been such a blessing to us! The Lord has been working so clearly here in people's hearts and lives during the past 2 weeks, and I'm excited to see what more he has in store!





Class time:


Class during week 3 was focused on the character and nature of God, for 3 days, and then we had a workshop on storytelling for the last 2 days. Our first teacher, Spencer, was such an incredible blessing and God worked so well through him to touch each one of our hearts individually about who our God is and to challenge what we believe about his character and nature.

Our storytelling workshop during the last 2 days of the week was really fun and super useful! Especially for youth and kids ministry, it was really helpful to learn new and better ways to share Gods word, in a way that people can remember and apply to their lives. It was also really useful as we thought about different cultures, especially oral cultures who love sharing stories, and how storytelling is such a great way for sharing Jesus.


Class during week 4 was about the Father Heart of God. This week was incredible and God touched us all in beautiful ways. Jack Kody (Papa Jack) was our teacher, and his passion for others to understand God as a Father, was beautiful and infectious.

Jack has a website, which has recordings of his teaching on God as our Father, which I would really recommend you have a look at! If you're bored in quarantine, there's over 30 hours of teaching there for you to enjoy! www.jackkody.com

These past 2 weeks of teaching, have been so special to me as I've been challenged with who I truly believe God to be, and breaking down strongholds and lies that hold me back from him. It can be difficult to make something go from head knowledge to heart knowledge, and truly believe it, and God has been challenging me in the past 2 weeks with this.


Life on base:


As I said at the start, I have fallen in love with this community! Although living with so many people in quite a small space has it's challenges, there is something so special and beautiful about life in community. As I've been getting to know people better, it's been hilarious to see how different we all are! Honestly we are the most random bunch of people, but the one thing that unites us is our love for Jesus and our desire to know him and make him known. Friendships and relationships based on Jesus are just different - and I love it!




Every so often we have a bonfire in the evening, and people from the base just come and enjoy time together. Usually someone brings a guitar and we worship together, or we dance! All of the different cultures here mean that there's lots of dancing, which is so much fun and is hilarious to learn! We've had 2 teams staying on base with us here - an outreach team from Germany and another from YWAM North Cascades. So it's been great to get to know them and enjoy fellowship together.




This Wednesday the base was able to hold its first "Family night" since covid began. It was such a special night, for everyone involved in YWAM SJ to join together for fellowship, worship and encouragement from Papa Jack who shared with us. The best part had to be all of the YWAM kids dancing with ribbons during worship - my heart was melting! There's also just so many babies around the base, which I am loving!




Prayer requests:


- The upcoming teachers who will be speaking

- Good health and protection over our base from covid

- More opportunities to engage with local communities and churches

- Provision of finances needed for outreach

- That God would continue to be teaching us and speaking to us. That we would have ears to listen and hearts to respond to what he is saying.



Just before I finish, Jack did an activity on his first day of teaching with us, which really stuck with me all week, which I would love to share and for you to try!


Imagine it's a normal Monday - you've just come back from work or school, and you've just sat down at the TV to unwind after a long day. You hear a car pull up in your driveway and you look out the window to see who it is. Suddenly you realise it's God. He's come to visit you.

Take a few minutes to think, and write down - what do you do when you realise it's God walking up to your doorstep?

There's no right or wrong answer, just think about your honest reaction.


This really challenged me in how I view God, in who I think God is.

Do I see him as a Father? Or more like a policeman who is going to arrest me for my sins? Do I fall at his feet and worship him? Or do I run out the back door, afraid at what he might say to me? Do I run into his arms? Or do I hide my face, ashamed?

I would really encourage you to think about this. Who is God to you?!


Thank you for all of your prayers and support,

God bless

Amy x


107 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page